Divorce Residency Essentials to Get Divorce in Louisiana
To file for divorce in Louisiana, the spouse who files must have an established residency within the state for a full year. Following the filing of the petition for dissolution there will be a 180-day waiting period. After the waiting period is met, the divorce is eligible for finalization.
Reasons for Divorce in Louisiana
Fault-based grounds for divorce in the state of Louisiana include adultery and conviction of a felony within the state. These grounds may need to be proven. No-fault grounds for divorce in the state of Louisiana include living separately and apart for 180 days (without minor children) and 365 days (with minor children). Both fault-based and no-fault grounds can be utilized in a do-it-yourself divorce. More information about establishing grounds will be found when you begin filling out the questionnaire on OnlineDivorceSolutions.com.
Custody of the Children in Louisiana
The State of Louisiana looks to award child custody based on what is in the best interests of the child or children. Joint custody is usually assumed to be in the best interests, though this may be argued against. When joint custody is awarded, both parents can make decisions regarding the child's development. However, this doesn’t mean that the child will spend an equal amount of time with each parent.
The court keeps many factors in mind when determining custody such as the relationship between the parents and children, the child’s age and gender, the parent’s moral integrity and the mental and physical health of all involved. When possible, the court will take into consideration the preferences of the parents and children.
The court may require both parties to mediate their differences with a court-approved mediator to reduce acrimony and allow for a smoother divorce process. In addition, a couple may choose to seek mediation on their own to work out smaller issues that are holding up the process and causing discord during negotiations. Utilizing mediation may allow for a couple to file an uncontested divorce making the process easier and more affordable.
The state-mandated court filing fees charged by the court are in addition to the costs of using OnlineDivorceSolutions.com. These costs can vary from location to location. Check with your local courthouse for information regarding the exact amount. Even with the filing fees, utilizing OnlineDivorceSolutions.com allows for an inexpensive divorce when compared to the price of hiring an attorney and bringing the case to the court.