Divorce Residency Essentials to Get Divorce in Arizona
To file for divorce in the state of Arizona, one of the spouses must have lived in the state for a minimum of 90 days. A longer waiting period is required if custody of the children is an issue. Once filed, a divorce may be granted 60 days after the responding spouse has been served with the divorce papers.
Reasons for Divorce in Arizona
The state of Arizona only recognizes one grounds for dissolution of marriage. This grounds is an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage, and the fault is not considered one way or the other.
Custody of the Children in Arizona
The court will determine custody based solely on the best interest of the child or children. Either joint or individual custody can be awarded as long as the child’s best interests are preserved. The court can issue an order for joint custody of the child if both parents are in agreement and submit a written parenting plan.
When determining custody, the court takes into account the desires of the parents and the children as well as who is the primary caregiver of the child. Other factors the court may consider is the physical and mental well-being of all parties involved, whether or not the parents have any drug offenses or criminal convictions and which parent will be more likely to allow the child frequent and meaningful contact with the other parent.
Arizona Child Support Guidelines
Barring special circumstances, Arizona’s standard state child support guidelines apply in almost every case. Both parents' gross income, as well as other child-related expenses, are taken into account when child support is calculated. In some cases, child support can be extended beyond a child’s secondary education, however, the standard ending time for child support in the state of Arizona is age 18.
Arizona encourages mediation or arbitration as a means of turning a contested case into an uncontested divorce. Mediation can begin with a court order, by agreement of both parties, or by law in the case of a covenant marriage.
There are standard state court filing fees which are charged in addition to the cost of using OnlineDivorceSolutions.com. This cost may vary from county to county. Check with your local clerk of courts for more information about what filing fee charges may apply in your specific jurisdiction.